INSPIRING DAILY DEVOTIONAL ® … A life without struggle

Text(s) for today: Rom. 9:11-24

‘Surely, your goodness…will pursue (actively chase) me all my days, and I’ll live in the LORD’s house for the rest of my life.” Psa 23: 6 NET.

goodness. 2jpgi

NB: NET stands for New English Translation

Surely goodness and mercies shall follow me all the days of my life…” So emphatic! King David could not have been more emphatic than this! “Surely!” It’s like our master Jesus saying “verily, verily” or “truly.” It means ‘there’s no doubt about it.’ Praise God!

According to David, it’s a matter of fact: inarguably true. This is amazing – a very powerful Bible confession/declaration: “Surely, goodness and mercies shall follow me…”

The word GOODNESS embodies every good thing you could ever wish for your life – fear of God, academic excellence, divine health, wonderful family, peace, joy, etc.

“MERCY” is a blessing that bestows compassion, forbearance or favor on the part of an offender. It says ‘although Mr. A is guilty, yet he will not suffer any punishment.’

Mercy treats you different from all others. In the Bible, several folks were treated differently by God under the same conditions. Zachariah and Mary are perfect examples. Both Zacharia and Mary queried the possibility of fulfillment of God’s words they received (after they took thought of their prevailing condition) yet only Zachariah was penalized; Mary escaped unpunished.

“…whereby shall I know this? (prevailing condition is as follows) for I am an old man, and my wife well stricken in years.”  Zachariah queried (Luke 1: 18).

“… How shall this be (prevailing condition is as follows) seeing I know not a man?” Mary queried (Luke 1:34).

No wonder the Bible tells us that Mary was favored (Lk 1: 30). Mercy is that thing that bestows favor.

One can also talk about Moses who married a foreign woman and went unpunished while God punished others for marrying foreign women (Num. 12: 1; Ezra 9:1, 2, 7). Praise God!

Mercy is not for everybody:

“For he (God) said to Moses, I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy.” Rom9: 15. That is to say, ‘I will have mercy on those, I, Jehovah choose to.” Praise God!

According to David, GOODNESS and MERCY will not just ‘be with him’ but they will PURSUE him, that is actively chase him. Just as a prince will not go out without his attendants, so will goodness and mercy never cease following. How long shall this be? All his days of his life, praise God! Beloved, your life is not going to be different. If goodness and mercy have not been your portion, they begin following you, starting from today (say Amen)!

Prayer & Confessions (pray out loudly)

Lord I thank you for your word. Indeed, goodness and mercy is pursuing me where ever I go. I’m the apple of your eyes – your very treasured possession. I’m truly blessed and from henceforth my life cannot be any different from what I’ve just read from your Word. Praise God!

Prayer time on Twitter

It’s time to join us pray on our prayer network on Twitter. Click here to begin

 Spread the word – share this post on your Facebook and  Twitter pages. You could also print it out and paste around by clicking on the ‘print’ button near the FB and Twitter buttons. Share your inspiring thoughts and comments on this post.

